Xine performance

Now playing with Gentoo as my latest Linux of choice (I got fed up with RPM dependancy problems, and Gentoo being source-based solves my other issue with binary-based distributions, where I felt like a 2nd-class citizen when using or accessing source code).

So, I’ve got Xine working, but can only use shared memory for the video decoding. This is great if I want to capture screen shots, but not for high-speed movies such as The Matrix, or even just reading the credits on The Lord of the Ring. So need to “fix” the performance.

I used to have Mandrake running v4l + xv, but I can’t have installed it right in Gentoo because, although xv is loaded, the performance is glacial if I try to use it.

I found this old How-to with some advice to try… but I might also want to look at the FAQ…. probably I haven’t built something into the kernel.

Also while reading around, I discovered Mplayer. This looks like it’s worth a download…

One thought on “Xine performance

Comments are closed.